CineMapua Announces 2022 Short Film Finalists

Posted: December 29, 2022, 2:20 P.M.

After one month of a thorough evaluation of the 2,892 submitted film entries around the world, the CINEMAPÚA Selection Committee has selected the 50 official film entries (finalists) which are all vying for Cardinal Best Films in 4 categories (including the World Film Section) in a week-long film festival to be held on March 13-18, 2023. These 50 official film finalists will undergo a final judging during the film festival week with another set of jurors (2 international filmmakers and 3 local award-winning film directors).

The 50 official CINEMAPÚA film finalists had been officially announced last November 7, 2022, via social media platforms by the selection committee. The finalists were notified through email and invited to physically attend the CINEMAPÚA International Student Short Festival week (the screening of 50 official film entries with some film workshops and film events), and the most anticipated awards night. According to CineMapúa founder, Dean Benigno B. Agapito Jr. of the School of Media Studies, this 20th year of CineMapúa marks a perfect move to make the students’ film festivity more accessible to a bigger audience because of the inclusion of World Film Section this year for foreign student-filmmakers worldwide.

The following are the 2022 CINEMAPÚA FINALISTS per category:

WORLD FILM SECTION - International Category (in no particular order)

  1. "Agony" - Directed by Mohammed Abdulameer Saad, University of Baghdad, Iraq
  2. "Coal" - Directed by Maksymilian Michorczyk, Warsaw Film School, Poland
  3. "Divination" - Directed by Gopal Acharya, Oscar International College, Nepal
  4. "Donkerster" - Directed by Frank van den Bogaart, Royal Academy of Fine Arts, Belgium
  5. "Falling Moon" - Directed by Yingying Zoe Wang, Shanghai Vancouver Film School, China
  6. "Giant & the Seed" - Directed by Sara Shabani, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  7. "Girl with a Mirror" - Directed by Nuno Dias, Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal
  8. "Junko" - Directed by Minsho Limbu, Everest Film Academy, Nepal
  9. "Lifeline: The Brothers Who Hold the Same Breath" - Directed by Abdullah Şahin, Işık University, Turkey
  10. "Neon Phantom" - Directed by Leonardo Martinelli, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  11. "Present" - Directed by Anna Anat Gofman Banai, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  12. "Psycho" - Directed by Mostafa Davtalav, University of Tehran, Iran
  13. "Rent-a-Friend" - Directed by Rafael Lopez Aguilar, Warsaw Film School, Poland
  14. "Safe" - Directed by Ian Barling, New York University - Tisch School of the Arts, United States of America
  15. "Slouch" - Directed by Michael Bohnenstingl, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, United States of America
  16. "The Book Watcher" - Directed by Xinzhi Chen, School of Visual Arts - New York, United States of America
  17. "The Longest Night of the Summer" - Directed by Leila Jordi, The University of Theatre and Film Arts Budapest, Hungary
  18. "Unanimous" - Directed by Touchamat Likitwattanaviboon, Mahidol University International College, Thailand
  19. "Utopian Life" - Directed by Abhishek Dixit, State Institute of Film and Television, PLC State University of Performing and Visual Arts, India
  20. "Waiting For Your Phone Call' - Directed by Aldis Elwan, Indonesia Institute of The Arts, Surakarta, Indonesia


INTERCOLLEGIATE CATEGORY - National Category - Philippines (in no particular order)

  1. "Alingasngas ng mga Kuliglig" - by Vahn Leinard Pascual, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde
  2. "Itom nga Bugas Kanaryo nga Ugat" - by Leonard Ian Billones, UP Visayas
  3. "Gehenna" - by Kalvin Sison, University of Santo Tomas
  4. "Bulawan" - by Jermaine Tulbo, MINT College
  5. "Makoko sa Baybay" - by Mike Cabarles, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde
  6. "Lilip" - by Diane Rochelle Cruz, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde
  7. "On the Shepherd’s Warning" - by Lily Gomes, Far Eastern University Manila
  8. "Pempem at ang Bomba Magazine" - by Migs Ruallo, Far Eastern University Manila
  9. "Pig’s Game" - by CM Bautista, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde
  10. "Red Thread" - by Jermaine Tulbo, MINT College
  11. "Si Oddie" - by Marie Kydylee Torato, UP Visayas
  12. "Siya Na Iba Sainda" - by Joshua Doce, Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology
  13. "That Night The Moon Shined" - by Xzy Dumabok, UP Film Institute – UP Diliman
  14. "Wala Pa Matawo" - by Benedine Vrianney Pamatmat, UP Film Institute – UP-Diliman
  15. "Saan Aabot ang Dapithapon?" - by Trixie Vertera & Carissa Sierras, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde


ALL MAPÚANS CATEGORY - School Category - Mapúa University - Philippines (in no particular order)

  1. "Kiss Don't Tell" - by Allen Saflor, Digital Film student
  2. "This is Not a Coming Out Story" - by Mark Ebreo, Digital Film student
  3. "Cut/Off" - by Von Viernes and Sean Romero, Digital Film student
  4. "Any Minute Now" - by Sean Eidref San Luis, Digital Film student
  5. "Lace" - by Adam Dumaguin, Digital Film student
  6. "Paano Humuli ng Kidlat" - by Rei Cordero, Digital Film student
  7. "Parang Bakla, Parang Lang Naman, Hehe" - by Bea Arguelles, Digital Film student
  8. "Mara" - by Jan Pauline Dacop, Digital Film student
  9. "Maudi Nga Arapaap" - by Daniel Magayon, Digital Film student
  10. "Don't Touch The Bay-ags" - by Yeng Garcia, Digital Film student


HIGH SCHOOL CATEGORY - National Category - Philippines (in no particular order)

  1. "A Confession" - by Minnesota Soriano Flores, Philippine High School for the Arts
  2. "Sa Pagitan ng Paghihintay" - by Sophia Marie Malasan, Eugenio Lopez Jr. Center for Media Arts Senior High School
  3. "Farasha" - by Hannah Ragudos, Alaminos City National High School
  4. "See You Yesterday" - by Ethan John Dela Cruz, Siena College of Taytay
  5. "Sapantaha sa Dilim" - by Erik Contreras, Jadrien Morales, Don Bosco Technical Institute Makati

CONGRATULATIONS to all the finalists!